Canadas Talent


January 14, 2012

Sum 41


City: Ajax, Ontario

Members: Deryck Whibley (lead vocals, guitar), Tom Thacker (guitar), Jason McCaslin (bass), Steve Jocz (drummer)

Label: Island Def Jam

Discography: Half Hour of Power EP (2000), All Killer, No Filler (2001), Does This Look Infected? (2002), Chuck (2004), Underclass Hero (2007), All the Good Shit: 14 Solid Gold Hits 2000-2008 (2009), Screaming Bloody Murder (2011)

Fun Facts:

- Sum 41 began as a NOFX cover band named “Kaspir”.

-The original members used to play in rival bands when they were in high school.

Deryck Whibley

Tom Thacker

Jason McCaslin

Steve Jocz

Sum 41 began back in 1996. In hopes of getting recognition from record companies, they started recording between 1996-1999. Not only did they record demo tapes, but also made videos of themselves and their antics in order to show off their personalities. In 1999, they were signed to Island Records with an international record deal. They released the EP Half Hour of Power on June 27, 2000.

Sum 41 released their first full-length album All Killer, No Filler on May 8th, 2001. They quickly reached success with this album with their hits “Fat Lip”, “In Too Deep” and “Motivation”. These songs are remembered even today as some of the best punk rock songs in history. The band then toured extensively with Blink-182 and The Offspring during the rest of the year. All Killer, No Filler is certified triple platinum.

In 2002, their second album was released on November 26th, 2002. Does This Look Infected?  was also a success as it brought singles “The Hell Song”, “Still Waiting”, and “Over My Head (Better Off Dead”).

On October 12th, 2004, Chuck was released, an album that Sum 41 named after a U.N. peacekeeper, Charles “Chuck” Pelletier. They met Chuck while visiting the Democratic Republic of Congo with War Child Canada, and a riot broke out around their hotel. Chuck helped civilians and the band get to safety. At the time, this album was the band’s highest-charting album. The band later released a DVD of their experience in Congo called Rocked: Sum 41 in Congo in 2005.

In 2006, guitarist Dave Baksh left Sum 41 to focus on his other band Brown Brigade. Sum 41 released their first album without Baksh, Underclass Hero on July 18th, 2007.

In 2007, Tom Thacker (former guitarist of Gob) replaced Baksh as lead guitarist on tour, but was officially part of Sum 41 when Dereck Whibley announced in 2009 that he would take part in writing and recording.

After many delays, Sum 41′s 5th album Screaming Bloody Murder was released on March 29th, 2011. The band had started working on it in back in 2008.

Currently, the band has sold over 40 million albums worldwide.

By: Julia St-Jean


Be the first to comment!

You must be logged in to post a comment.